7 Cool Things From the Internet

Sorry for not posting last week.  Real life, bitch that it is, struck like a mutated killer African bee.  And then invited all it’s fellow mutated bee friends to the party.

So this is me, posting a post from the grave about some really cool stuff that you should definitely check out.

1.  Easy Taco Casserole

I found this recipe circulating on facebook (if you click the pic it should take you to the original poster’s page).  I’m sharing this because, hey, I like tacos.  I like easy food.  Bonus if it makes enough so I can have leftovers for a couple days and don’t have to cook again.  I tweaked the original recipe a bit to suit my tastes (black beans instead of ranch style, cream of mushroom instead of cream of chicken, added half a block of cream cheese because that shit is AWESOME, and added a can of diced tomatoes to increase volume).

It came out wonderful and made enough that I can use it as one or two meals a day through Tuesday or Wednesday.

2.  THIS COMIC CON VIDEO

This makes me super sad I haven’t been to Comic Con, but inspires me to keep saving because I WILL GET THERE ONE DAY.

3.  Gif Sherlock as Lindsey Stirling

You swing those hip, Holmes.

4.    The Swimming Cities of Serenissima

Anyone remember Water World with Kevin Costner?  (No hate if you didn’t like, I personally loved it and watched it a million times as a kid.)  Well, there was kind of a real life Water World going on for a while as an artistic and utopian experiment pioneered by Swoon.  You can read an article about them on Messy Nessy’s Blog which has more pictures, or visit the photographer’s site here.

5.  Sex Plus with Laci Green

Laci Green, if you do not know, is an awesome young woman who has made it her mission in life to educate people about sex and sexuality through guest speaking and her Youtube channel.  I adore these videos for a number of reasons:

  • Laci approaches all her subjects with facts, openness, and a bomb-tastic personality that encourages discussion, contemplation, and awareness.
  • She doesn’t promote shaming.
  • She gives practical, common sense advice that maybe isn’t so common anymore because of vast amounts of misinformation.
  • She’s fucking adorable, okay?

Links where you can find Laci:

Youtube

Her Blog

Twitter

Tumblr

Facebook

6.  Top 20 Worst Songs to Play at a Funeral

Just in case you’re writing a scandalous funeral scene and need some inspiration.  Or if you are planning your own funeral and plan to be a jerk/joker to the end.  If it’s the latter, welcome to the club.  We have tee-shirts and everything.

7.  Story Boarding for Writers

I use this technique during the 2nd or 3rd drafts of my stories and it really helps.  If you want a more fun version to look at, here is a roller coaster one:

And those are the coolest things I’ve come across on the internet today, and ALL of them pertain to writing in one way or another because-

DUN DUN DUN

I challenge you to find a way to use any/all of them in your own writing.

Cheers 😀

 

©Shiloh Ohmes 2013

Leave a Reply

