Cold and Flu Season is a Bitch

Uuughhhhhhhhh.

Euuuurrrrrrrgggfffff.

*Zombie donkey noises*

*Cryptkeeper music plays*

It’s ALIVE.

Mostly.

Maybe.

Kind of.

Sorry I haven’t been around, guys.  On Christmas Eve Eve I got sideswiped with this chest cold shit and am only now returning to semi-humanness.

Being sick suuuuuuuuucks.  It’s nothing but sharp and prickly-edged pain, like, everywhere in a haze of cough drops, throat spray, broth, and endless herbal concoctions.  Normally my brain fires on fifty cylinders in seventy directions, but it all came to a screeching halt for the past week.  I felt like a damn vegetable.  All I could do was sit up and cough and play some farming game app, for the irony, of course.  That’s all the concentration I had.  My Mom laughed at me.  For serious, she would walk by and I’d be propped up in my pillow nest, sucking despondently on peppermint tea with my nose all red and raw and my forehead wrinkled because I was fully engrossed in planting rotating fields and she’d snicker.

I made a pretty pathetic picture.  But Mom would bring me stuff and braved the cold to get me lotionified tissues, so she’s forgiven.

Now I’m trying to catch up on all the blog posts I was supposed to write and put out.  My goal is to get ahead by a couple weeks so most of January is taken care of, and to write and finish all three or four projects currently sitting open and staring at me.  Like a den of hungry chupacabra awakened from hibernation.

Oy vey.  Wish me luck.

Also, have a picture of my baby girl, Manche.  I’m convinced she helped cuddle me better this past week.  Even if she does have shit breath and farts like a locker room of teenage boys.

Manche, the shit breathed Boston Terrier warrior princess.
Manche, the shit breathed Boston Terrier warrior princess.

Also, advice if you happen to come down with this crap as well:

Peppermint tea is AWESOME.  Drink it hot and it’s actually soothing on a ravaged throat.

A long hot shower.  I sprinkle essential oils like peppermint, eucalyptus, and lavender on the shower walls above the spray line and put the water as hot as I can stand it.  Make sure you close the bathroom door!  The oils and the steam really help break that shit up in your chest.

Broth.  My Mom makes ours in the crock pot and keeps it going for days, adding water whenever we take any out.  Drink a couple cups a day.  Add spices like black pepper, turmeric, and salt for more cold fighting benefits, and for taste.

Sleep.  Sleep for hours.  Wake up and eat and then sleep some more.

I could go on and on, but just head over and comb through Mom’s site.  Herbs and fighting colds and shit is her forte and she even has a book out on what to do for colds and flus here.

Crazy Ink Slinger out.

Leave a Reply

