Doneness Project Day 6

Doneness Project

 

I got a late start today due to staying up late food surfing on Pinterest and having two couple hour long webinars to watch right off the bat this morning.  The webinars were awesome.  I feel I gained a lot of new knowledge and perspective from what they had to offer.

I am not the most technical minded individual.  If I had my way I would be off in the cemetery with my laptop, hunting through graves for awesome character names, story ideas, and chucking bread at the geese.  All day.  Every day.  And then stop off later at the coffee shop to recharge the laptop and write some more.

Alas, that is not a viable career option.  Not until I’m J. K. Rowling rich, anyway.  Then I can do whatever the hell I want.  Until I reach that lofty height, then, I need to learn how to run my blog and writing career as a business, which means being productive not only with my creativity, but with my mindset, financial goals, and overall execution.  So that’s what The Mom and I did this morning and part of the afternoon.  I’m feeling pretty good about it, all told.  I have a lot of new things to think about and plan for (oh, geez, planning.  My kryptonite!).

This evening, The Mom’s brain had kind of been done in, so she burrowed away in bed for a nap and I worked on my story project.  I finally figured out why chapter five sucked!  The character I introduced there simply came in the wrong way, at the wrong time, and with the wrong style.  It took some brainstorming in the shower (which mostly consisted of scrunching my face and staring at soap stains shaped like Abraham Lincoln while I ran all my plot and character problems around in circles.  I may have even done sarcastic voices, but no one came prove that).

In the end, while toweling off and yanking a brush through my nest of hair, it dawned on me.  I was approaching the new character in a totally off manner and needed to move him down a couple chapters and pull off a dramatic rescue in different way, therefore upping the mystery surrounding his role and allowing my characters to keep their car.

It’s a pretty sweet car.  It looks like this, only lime green and covered in magic sigils with two badass women on board.

Now it looks like The Mom is up, so I’m taking a two hour break to watch Tremors.  You should, too.  Not because you need the break, although you could, but because that movie is freaking awesome and the best combination of writing, spot on acting, and cool monsters you’ll ever find.  Don’t even try to argue.  You won’t win.

And, after that, back to writing.

Toodles!

Leave a Reply

