Doneness Project Days 15-22

Doneness Project

 

I’m disappointed in myself that I haven’t been updating my Doneness status like I said I would, but I have been working to further it every day, so I’m still succeeding in the completion process, all told.  I’ve officially switched the story I started writing this month, and though that happened mid-month I’m about a third of the way finished with it.  So far I have a little more than 10,000 words written, so, yay me!  *throws confetti*

I haven’t run into nearly as many writing blocks with this story as I have the original, so I’m thinking I can probably pound out another 20k by month’s end if I keep at it.  That will give me the complete manuscript I need to go into February as an editing monster and I can’t wait.  I love the editing process.  Instead of stretching my brain trying to create I can work with what’s already there and make it better.

As for the story itself, I’m keeping momentum by not writing boring stuff.  Which, you know, kind of sounds like an obvious tactic when writing a story, but I have a habit about getting bogged down in something that no longer works and, thus, becomes nothing more than a steaming gray pile of word vomit.  Which sucks on so many levels, though I’m sure it’s something all of you have dealt with at one time or another.  Given the time crunch I’ve set for myself, I sit down at the computer and write only the interesting stuff I have floating around in my brain.  The few time’s it’s started to get boring (no matter how ‘vital’ I thought that scene might be), I backtracked and went on to the next Big Cool Thing.  It’s a constant thing to remind myself that I can always go back and insert any important information later, when I have a finished mass to work with, but now is not the time.  Now is the time to dump everything on the ground and create connecting piles.  Editing will be the time to make the piles and the connections make sense.

So many habits and tricks to learn, even though I’ve been writing stories for as long as I could use the alphabet.  There truly is always something new to learn.

I’m still plugging away at the blog, too.  Any waking hours not used for the story are dedicated to getting my posts out on Twitter and writing new content every day for the blog.  I’m also crafting the bones of several writing ebooks, although I don’t have anything definite written on those yet.  One thing at a time, I tell myself.

Besides writing, I have to share the most hilarious thing that’s happened.  My Mom’s cousin had a birthday a week or so ago and wanted to go to dinner and a movie.  The movie she chose was Into The Woods.  Now, I will say upfront that I had no idea what it was really about.  I did not know it was a musical.  Even the Cousin didn’t, and said the previews made it look like something akin to Once Upon a Time, so she was all for seeing it.

Now, I have nothing against musicals, but they are something I have to be in the mood for.  I really wasn’t in that kind of a mood that night, at least not at first.  But then I started having fun watching it, and catching all the funny little innuendos lurking among the lyrics.  And then came that one scene.  This one, in fact, which is here in it’s glorious, ridiculous entirety:

This barely started playing and the entire theater exploded with raucous laughter.  Well, half of the theater did.  The women in the audience were doing their best to remember how to breathe and the men in the audience were caught between abject horror, questioning all the life choices they’d made that brought them to that particular moment in time, or pretending they didn’t exist, and neither did the peacock posturing on screen.  I really though Random Theater Lady, who sat in front of me, was going to need medical attention.  Her husband, on the other hand, spent most of the movie with his face in his hands.  Pretty sure he was muttering ‘why me?’ as well.

At the end of the Agony scene the theater started to go quiet, the laughter dying off into muted wheezing and muffled tears of joy.  Then the Cousin belted out, ‘Encore!’ and the theater lost any semblance of dignity they were trying to reclaim.  To be honest, I can’t really tell you what happened after that.  The rest of the movie was a blur, except for the comments made by the group I was with, which sent us all into peals of face reddening laughter.

On our way out of the theater at the credits, Random Theater Lady was in front of us.  I heard her tell her husband, “I can never look at Captain Kirk the same way again.”

Me either, Random Theater Lady, me either.  That was one final frontier I never figured he’d traverse, but he did, and evidence exists, so I think the world is now a slightly brighter place.

That’s really all I have to update on.  Besides the snow, which we got a ton of the night before last.  The Mom and I aren’t planning to leave the house until it leaves first, so our days are spent snuggled up in blankets, wrestling with our brains and our computers, and glaring at the nasty white stuff just lounging about on the lawn and threatening to blind us with it’s bright glare in the noonday sun.  I don’t know if it’s apparent, but I’m really not a winter person.

Now I’m off to work on the story and the next blog post.  Shooting for 5k words with a glimmer of hope that I can push on to 10k.  I really want to dive into editing this sucker.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

