NaNoWriMo is Upon Us!

here comes

Another week down, only fourteen and a half hours until NaNoWriMo starts!

I am so pumped, guys.  My outline is almost done and I am having to restrain myself from starting the story.  I’m excited about what I’m planning to write and about having a map for November to follow. I’ve spent the past two weeks worth of lunch breaks brain storming character arcs and mythology and themes and how many weird monsters and western tropes I can reimagine for this series.  Many documentaries have been watched and quite a few horrible music mixes have been listened to trying to find the perfect story soundtrack.

I am so ready to get this thing written.  I’m hoping my enthusiasm will inspire me to make November 1st a 10,000 word day.

Hey, you gotta shoot for a goal.  Might as well make it a lofty one.

I write year round, but NaNo is and will always be a special time of year because it’s the only time I get that much writing done at once.  I think there’s more creative energy in the air with so many writers and artists participating at this time.  The levels of chaos are higher, and it’s easier to write with complete abandon.  After all, everyone is racing towards the same goal at once.  Writing can be a lonely job, but you’re never truly alone during NaNoWriMo.

I’ve been outlining the next two books in the Witches of Texas series at about 25,000 words each, so by November’s end I hope to have two manuscripts I can start editing in January.  To curb my need to write until it’s time, I’ve been making graphics for the stories, and even made a tentative cover for the second book.  You can check them out here on my Facebook page.

If anyone wants to join me for the crazy awesomeness, there’s still time to sign up for NaNoWriMo and you can friend me here if you want someone to angst with, or to bounce ideas off of, or for encouragement.

Also, because of NaNoWriMo, I won’t be posting any articles until December sometime, but I am going to line up a series of daily prompts and encouragement posts to go out during NaNo.  Be sure to stop by if you need some inspiration.

Adios, peeps, I will see you on the other side of November!

Leave a Reply

